1930, the federal government transferred the unalienated portions of the natural resources of Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta and of sections of British Columbia to the respective governments, and all unalienated lands in Newfoundland, except those administered by the federal government, became provincial public lands under the terms-of-union on March 31, 1949. All land in Prince Edward Island has been alienated

except 344 km<sup>2</sup> under federal or provincial administration.

Transfer by the federal government of land within and immediately surrounding established communities in the Northwest Territories and the Yukon Territory to the respective territorial governments began in September 1970 when four such transfers were completed, three in the Northwest Territories and one in the Yukon Territory, for a total of 1722 km². Since then transfers were completed in the following areas: Yukon Territory: Faro 236 km², Beaver Creek 5 km², Mayo 10 km², Teslin 2.6 km², Carmacks 31 km², Destruction Bay 5 km², Carcross 24.9 km², Watson Lake 5 km², Northwest Territories: Frobisher Bay 132 km², Aklavik 21 km², Fort Simpson 363 km², Fort Smith 57 km², Fort Providence 210 km², Hay River–Enterprise 368 km², Norman Wells 453 km², Fort McPherson 80 km², Fort Franklin 65 km², Fort Good Hope 57 km², Pine Point 29.8 km².

Federal parks

Parks Canada, a program of the Indian affairs and northern development department, includes national parks, national historic parks and sites, and agreements for recreation and conservation. Parks Canada has its headquarters in Ottawa but operational responsibility in five regions: the Atlantic regional office in Halifax, the Quebec regional office in Quebec City, the Ontario regional office in Cornwall, the Prairie regional office in Winnipeg and the Western regional office in Calgary.

National historic parks and sites. National historic parks and sites commemorate persons, places and events of major significance in Canada's historical development.

The National Parks Act of 1930 provided that the Governor-in-Council may set apart any land as a national historic park to commemorate a historic event, or preserve any historic landmark or any object of historic, prehistoric or scientific interest of national importance. The Historic Sites and Monuments Act of 1953 provided the statutory base for the operation of the historic sites and monuments board and defined the role of the board as adviser to the minister. Further legislation in 1955 and 1959 amended and broadened the scope of the original act. The Canadian historic sites division, now the national historic parks and sites branch, was created in the northern affairs and national resources department in 1955 to develop, interpret, operate and maintain historic parks and sites and to act as secretariat for the board.

A policy statement in 1967 specified that for commemoration, a site or structure must be closely associated with a person, place or event of national historical importance, or it must illustrate the cultural, social, political, economic or military patterns of history or of a prehistoric people or archaeological discovery, or be valuable as an example of architecture. The statement included guidelines for provision of visitor services, interpretative programs and information to the public. Standards were established for preservation, restoration and reconstruction of structures which stressed authenticity in the materials used and in the furnishings and artifacts. The policy recognized the need for a comprehensive program to give full thematic and geographical

representation and to establish a long-range planning program.

The Historic Sites and Monuments Act provides for a board of 17 members: two representatives each from Ontario and Quebec and one from each of the 10 other provinces and territories appointed by the Governor-in-Council, the dominion archivist, one representative from the National Museums of Canada and one from the Indian affairs and northern development department as ex officio members. Members are generally historians of distinction. The board may recommend that sites, buildings and other structures of national importance be developed as national historic parks or historic sites or that commemoration be carried out by the erection of plaques or distinctive monuments. Suggestions for establishment of historic sites and parks come from many sources — the general public, members of Parliament, historical societies and other groups, department staff and board members themselves. Before a suggestion

1.5.1